

NORTHEAST COMMUNITY COLLEGE AREA

MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING

Thursday, December 13, 2018

Prior to convening the meeting, Chairperson Petersen led the assembly in pledging their allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

12400

Roll call was taken with a quorum present.

AREA BOARD

Dirk Petersen, Chairperson	Present
Steven Anderson, Vice-Chairperson	Present
Arlan Kuehn, Secretary	Present
Del Ames	Present
Donovan Ellis	Present
Keith Harvey	Absent-Excused
Dr. Terry Nelson	Present
Julie Robinson	Present
Jeffrey Scherer	Present
Carol Sibbel	Present
Gene Willers	Absent-Excused

OTHERS PRESENT

Dr. Michael R. Chipps, President John Blaylock, Executive Vice President Lyle Kathol, Vice President of Educational Services Lynne Koski, Vice President of Administrative Services Derek Bierman, Vice President of Technology Services Amanda Nipp, Vice President of Student Services Lindsay Spiegel, Director for Center for Enterprise Dr. Tracy Kruse, Associate Vice President of Development and External Affairs Marcus Rios, Director of Human Resources, Rewards, and Retention Jim Curry, Director of Public Relations Diane Reikofski, Recording Secretary Tom Wiese, Technical Support Specialist Emily Case, *Norfolk Daily News* Cody Ronnfeldt, WJAG 12401

Chairperson Petersen convened the regular meeting to order at 3:04 p.m.

12402

Del Ames MOVED and Arlan Kuehn SECONDED the motion to adopt the Agenda of the December 13, 2018 Regular Meeting as distributed.

Voting Yes: Ames, Anderson, Ellis, Kuehn, Nelson, Petersen, Robinson, Scherer, and Sibbel

Voting No: None

Absent: Harvey and Willers

MOTION CARRIED

12403

Chairperson Petersen noted that a copy of the Open Meetings Law is posted on the tables at the back of the room. No constituents were in attendance to address the board with a public comment.

12404

Carol Sibbel MOVED and Del Ames SECONDED the motion to approve the Minutes of the November 8, 2018 meetings as follows:

- 1. Regular Meeting
- 2. Finance Committee Meeting w/correction
- 3. External Relations Committee Meeting
- 4. Student Success Committee Meeting
- 5. Facilities Committee Meeting
- 6. Governance Committee Meeting w/correction

Voting Yes: Anderson, Ellis, Kuehn, Nelson, Petersen, Robinson, Sibbel, and Ames

Voting No: None

Abstain: Scherer

Absent: Harvey and Willers

MOTION CARRIED

12405

Dr. Michael Chipps and the vice presidents provided verbal reports of campus-wide accomplishments, activities, and events.

On behalf of Trelynn Morrow, Student Leadership Association (SLA) president, Amanda Nipp reported that Carissa Kollath, Director of Student Activities, accompanied four SLA members to

the Association for the Promotion of Campus Activities (APCA) Conference in Chicago, IL. Tia Smith received the Midwest Regional Student Programmer of the Year award, qualifying her for the national competition in February in Orlando, FL.

12406

Steve Anderson, Nebraska Community College Association (NCCA) Board of Directors representative, reported that Northeast Community College hosted a very successful meeting in early November. Southeast Community College in Lincoln will host next year's annual meeting. During the January meeting, the NCCA Board will review legislative bills and establish a position for each bill that could have an impact on community colleges. Legislative Day in Lincoln will be held on February 7th and provides an opportunity for board members to meet with state representatives. The Community College National Legislative Summit (NLS) in Washington, DC will be held February 10-13, 2019.

12407

Jeff Scherer MOVED and Steve Anderson SECONDED the motion to acknowledge and accept the claims paid in November 2018 as follows:

General Fund\$	1,274,523.37
Auxiliary Fund\$	396,753.60
Grants and Contracts\$	87,935.00
Scholarships and Financial Aid\$	13,978.64
Student Loans\$	0.00
Student Clubs\$	11,316.17
Other Agencies\$	6,703.54
Capital Improvement\$	53,893.84
ADA Hazard\$	1,218.00
Restricted Plant\$	345,627.48
Debt Service\$	27,173.54
Payroll Fund\$	3,090,403.45
TOTAL CLAIMS PAID\$	5,309,526.63

Voting Yes: Ellis, Kuehn, Nelson, Petersen, Robinson, Scherer, Sibbel, Ames, and Anderson

Voting No: None

Absent: Harvey and Willers

MOTION CARRIED

12408

Mr. Anderson, member of the Governance Committee, advised that the FIRST READING was heard on revisions to BP-3010, Use and Scheduling of College Facilities and Property.

12409

Mr. Anderson advised that the FIRST READING was heard on BP-3270, Loitering.

12410

Mr. Anderson advised that the FIRST READING was heard on revisions to BP-7410, <u>Employee</u> <u>Leave</u>.

12411

Mr. Anderson advised that the FIRST READING was heard for the deletion of the following: BP-7413, <u>Administrative Earned Annual Leave</u> BP-7415, <u>Professional/Managerial Earned Annual Leave</u> BP-7417, <u>Full-Time Classified Earned Annual Leave</u> BP-7419, <u>Personal Leave</u> BP-7420, <u>Sick Leave</u> BP-7420, <u>Sick Leave</u> BP-7425, <u>Family and Medical Leave</u> BP-7430, <u>Emergency Leave</u> BP-7440, <u>Adoption Leave</u>

BP-7450, Military Leave

BP-7460, Jury/Court Leave

BP-7471, Leave of Absence for Professional Development

BP-7481, Leave of Absence Without Pay

12412

Steve Anderson MOVED to appoint the following Board of Governors for 2019: Steve Anderson, Chairperson Arlan Kuehn, Vice-Chairperson Julie Robinson, Secretary

Donovan Ellis SECONDED the motion.

Voting Yes: Kuehn, Nelson, Petersen, Robinson, Scherer, Sibbel, Ames, Anderson, and Ellis

Voting No: None

Absent: Harvey and Willers

MOTION CARRIED

12413

Steve Anderson MOVED to appoint Steve Anderson and Gene Willers to serve as the Nebraska Community College Association (NCCA) Board of Directors representatives for 2019, with the remainder of the Board serving as alternates. Terry Nelson SECONDED the motion.

Voting Yes: Nelson, Petersen, Robinson, Scherer, Sibbel, Ames, Anderson, Ellis, and Kuehn

Voting No: None

Absent: Harvey and Willers

MOTION CARRIED

12414

At 3:32 p.m., with no further business to discuss, it was UNANIMOUSLY PASSED BY VOICE VOTE to ADJOURN the meeting.

Minutes prepared by Diane Reikofski, Recording Secretary.

Arlan Kuehn, Secretary Northeast Board of Governors

Dirk Petersen, Chairperson Northeast Board of Governors