

NORTHEAST COMMUNITY COLLEGE AREA

MINUTES REGULAR MEETING

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Chairperson Terry F. Nelson led the assembly in pledging their allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

11985

Prior to convening the meeting, Chairperson Terry F. Nelson requested a moment of silence in memory of John W. Davies.

Following the moment of silence, Keith E. Harvey suggested a brass plaque be purchased and attached to the gavel and/or anvil, to serve as a reminder of John's commitment to the Board of Governors.

11986

Chairperson Nelson convened the meeting at 3:06 p.m. in Room 1108B of the College Welcome Center.

11987

The Northeast Board of Governors met for its regular session Board Meeting on Thursday, February 9, 2017. Notice of the Regular Meeting was published in the *Norfolk Daily News* on Friday, February 3, 2017.

Roll call was taken with a quorum present.

AREA BOARD

Dr. Terry F. Nelson, Chairperson	Present
Dirk A. Petersen, Vice-Chairperson	Present
Steven M. Anderson, Secretary	
Keith E. Harvey	
Arlan W. Kuehn	Present
Don Oelsligle	Present
Julie Robinson	Absent-Excused
Jeffrey M. Scherer	Present
Shirley J. Petsche	Present
Carol A. Sibbel	Present
Gene L. Willers	Present

OTHERS PRESENT

Dr. Michael R. Chipps, President

Mary Honke, Executive Vice President

John Blaylock, Vice President of Educational Services

Lynne Koski, Vice President of Administrative Services

Derek Bierman, Vice President of Technology Services

Amanda Nipp, Vice President of Student Services

Eric Johnson, Associate Vice President of Center for Enterprise

Dr. Tracy Kruse, Associate Vice President of Development and External Affairs

Craig Garrett, Associate Vice President of Human Resources

Jim Curry, Director of Public Relations

Diane Reikofski, Recording Secretary

Brenda Sock, Technology Services Executive Assistant

Grace Petersen, Norfolk Daily News

Paul Hughes, WJAG

Scott Gray, Brogan & Gray, P.C., L.L.O.

Stacy Dieckman, Director of Financial Aid

Carissa Kollath, Director of Student Activities

Amanda Engelhart, Business/Economics Instructor

Trelynn Morrow, Student Government Association (SGA) president

Lori Vanderheiden, Dean of Enrollment Management

11988

Gene L. Willers MOVED and Keith E. Harvey SECONDED the motion to adopt the Agenda of the February 9, 2017 meeting as distributed.

Voting Yes: Anderson, Harvey, Kuehn, Nelson, Oelsligle, Petersen, Petsche, Scherer,

Sibbel, and Willers

Voting No: None

Absent: Robinson MOTION CARRIED

11989

Chairperson Nelson noted that a copy of the Open Meetings law is posted on the tables at the back of the room. No constituents were in attendance to address the board with a public comment.

11990

Jeffrey M. Scherer MOVED and Arlan W. Kuehn SECONDED the motion to approve the Minutes of the January 12, 2017 meetings as follows:

- 1. Regular Meeting
- 2. External Relations Committee Meeting
- 3. Governance Committee Meeting

- 4. Finance Committee Meeting
- 5. Human Resources Committee Meeting
- 6. Facilities Committee Meeting
- 7. Student Success Committee Meeting

Voting Yes: Harvey, Kuehn, Nelson, Petersen, Petsche, Scherer, Sibbel, Willers, and

Anderson

Voting No: None

Abstain: Oelsligle

Absent: Robinson MOTION CARRIED

11991

Trelynn Morrow, SGA president, reported that SGA currently has five members and officer applications are due today.

Trelynn will represent SGA at the National Association for the Promotion of Campus Activities (APCA) Conference which will be held in Orlando, FL, March 9-12, 2017.

11992

Stacy Dieckman, Director of Financial Aid, provided a review of the Federal Aid Report for 2015-2016.

11994

Shirley Petsche, NCCA Board of Directors representative, reported that Greg Adams, NCCA Executive Director, will join them in Washington, DC for the Community College National Legislative Summit.

Steve Anderson advised that Mr. Adams continue to monitor local legislative issues in Lincoln. The next quarterly NCCA Board of Directors meeting will be held on May 1, 2017.

11995

Keith E. Harvey MOVED and Shirley Petsche SECONDED the motion to acknowledge and accept the Monthly Financial Report for January 31, 2017 the claims paid in January 2017 as follows:

General Fund\$	3,285,557.64
Auxiliary Fund\$	504,622.51
Grants and Contracts\$	50,826.96
Scholarships and Financial Aid\$	434.02
Student Loans\$	500.00
Student Clubs\$	5,745.62
Other Agencies\$	14,174.56

Capital Improvement\$	291,382.06
ADA Hazard\$	0.00
Restricted Plant\$	347,481.81
Debt Service\$	557,332.71
Payroll Fund\$	2,238,464.84
TOTAL CLAIMS PAID\$	7,296,522.73

Voting Yes: Kuehn, Nelson, Oelsligle, Petersen, Petsche, Scherer, Sibbel, Willers, Anderson, and Harvey

Voting No: None

Absent: Robinson MOTION CARRIED

11996

Jeffrey M. Scherer, Chairperson of the Student Success Committee, MOVED to approve continuation of the Diesel Technology Program at Northeast Community College for submission to the Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education (CCPE). Dirk A. Petersen SECONDED the motion.

Voting Yes: Nelson, Oelsligle, Petersen, Petsche, Scherer, Sibbel, Willers, Anderson, Harvey, and Kuehn

Voting No: None

Absent: Robinson MOTION CARRIED

11997

Keith E. Harvey, Chairperson of the Governance Committee, advised that the FIRST READING was heard on BP-4310, Instructional Program Review.

11998

Keith E. Harvey advised that the FIRST READING was heard on revisions to BP-4010, Academic Grade Records Retention.

11999

Keith E. Harvey advised that the FIRST READING was heard on revisions to BP-5120, <u>Transfer of Credit</u>.

12000

Steven M. Anderson, Chairperson of the Finance Committee, MOVED to set the average cost for on-campus housing and meal plans at \$3,990 per semester for 2017-2018. Don Oelsligle SECONDED the motion.

Voting Yes: Oelsligle, Petersen, Petsche, Scherer, Sibbel, Willers, Anderson, Harvey,

Kuehn, and Nelson

Voting No: None

Absent: Robinson MOTION CARRIED

12001

Dirk A. Petersen, Chairperson of the Facilities Committee, MOVED to approve the Real Estate Purchase Agreement for the purchase of property addressed as 901 East Benjamin Avenue, Norfolk, Madison County, Nebraska. Carol A. Sibbel SECONDED the motion.

Voting Yes: Petersen, Petsche, Scherer, Sibbel, Willers, Anderson, Harvey, Kuehn,

Nelson, and Oelsligle

Voting No: None

Absent: Robinson MOTION CARRIED

12002

Chairperson Terry F. Nelson recognized staff birthdays for the month of February.

12003

In other business, Steve Anderson reminded everyone of the importance of the work of former board members and moving the College to where it is today. Mr. Anderson acknowledged Mr. Clarence Schmitt, a long-time board member. Mr. Schmitt was a member of the greatest generation, was involved in community service, and also owned the lumber yard in Wisner for many years. He encouraged members to remember former board members.

12004

At 3:45 p.m., with no further business to discuss, it was UNANIMOUSLY PASSED BY VOICE VOTE to ADJOURN the meeting.

Minutes prepared by Diane Reikofski, Recording Secretary.

Steven M. Anderson, Secretary Northeast Board of Governors

Dr. Terry F. Nelson, Chairperson Northeast Board of Governors